Entities of Russia.



Quite often translators face the issue of translating names of Russian Federation entities. In our view, the most logical approach is to check the translation of the Constitution at one of the trusted web-sites, e.g. www.constitution.ru.

According to the translation of the articles 65 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, the entities of the Russian Federation have the following names:



Республика Адыгея (Адыгея) Republic of Adygeya
Республика Алтай Republic of Altai
Республика Башкортостан Republic of Bashkortostan
Республика Бурятия Republic of Buryatia
Республика Дагестан Republic of Daghestan
Республика Ингушетия Republic of Ingushetia
Кабардино-Балкарская Республика Kabardino-Balkarian Republic
Республика Калмыкия Republic of Kalmykia
Карачаево-Черкесская Республика Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
Республика Карелия Republic of Karelia
Республика Коми Komi Republic
Республика Крым Republic of Crimea
Республика Марий Эл Republic of Mari El
Республика Мордовия Republic of Mordovia
Республика Саха (Якутия) Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
Республика Северная Осетия – Алания Republic of North Ossetia – Alania
Республика Татарстан (Татарстан) Republic of Tatarstan
Республика Тыва Republic of Tuva
Удмуртская Республика Udmurtian Republic
Республика Хакасия Republic of Khakassia
Чеченская Республика Chechen Republic
Чувашская Республика – Чувашия Chuvash Republic



Алтайский край Altai Territory
Забайкальский край Trans-Baikal Territory
Камчатский край Kamchatka Territory
Краснодарский край Krasnodar Territory
Красноярский край Krasnoyarsk Territory
Пермский край Perm Territory
Приморский край Primorye Territory
Ставропольский край Stavropol Territory
Хабаровский край Khabarovsk Territory



Амурская область Amur Region
Архангельская область Arkhangelsk Region
Астраханская область Astrakhan Region
Белгородская область Belgorod Region
Брянская область Bryansk Region
Владимирская область Vladimir Region
Волгоградская область Volgograd Region
Вологодская область Vologda Region
Воронежская область Voronezh Region
Ивановская область Ivanovo Region
Иркутская область Irkutsk Region
Калининградская область Kaliningrad Region
Калужская область Kaluga Region
Кемеровская область Kemerovo Region
Кировская область Kirov Region
Костромская область Kostroma Region
Курганская область Kurgan Region
Курская область Kursk Region
Ленинградская область Leningrad Region
Липецкая область Lipetsk Region
Магаданская область Magadan Region
Московская область Moscow Region
Мурманская область Murmansk Region
Нижегородская область Nizhny Novgorod Region
Новгородская область Novgorod Region
Новосибирская область Novosibirsk Region
Омская область Omsk Region
Оренбургская областьOrenburg Region
Орловская областьOrel Region
Пензенская область Penza Region
Псковская область Pskov Region
Ростовская область Rostov Region
Рязанская область Ryazan Region
Самарская область Samara Region
Саратовская область Saratov Region
Сахалинская область Sakhalin Region
Свердловская область Sverdlovsk Region
Смоленская область Smolensk Region
Тамбовская область Tambov Region
Тверская область Tver Region
Томская область Tomsk Region
Тульская область Tula Region
Тюменская область Tyumen Region
Ульяновская область Ulyanovsk Region
Челябинская область Chelyabinsk Region
Ярославская область Yaroslavl Region

Города федерального значения

Cities of Federal Importance

Москва Moscow
Санкт-Петербург St. Petersburg
Севастополь Sevastopol

Автономные области

Autonomous Regions

Еврейская автономная область Jewish Autonomous Region

Автономные округа

Autonomous Areas

Ненецкий автономный округ Nenets Autonomous Area
Ханты-Мансийский автономный округ – Югра Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area – Yugra
Чукотский автономный округ Chukotka Autonomous Area
Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Area


In our work, we use this variant of the translation.

To be fair, it should be noted that the translation of the Constitution at www.kremlin.ru slightly differs. The translation of the article 65 is the same as summarized in the table above, but the translation of the article 66 is as follows: «The status of a kray, oblast, city of federal significance, autonomous oblast, autonomous okrug shall be determined by the Constitution of the Russian Federation and the charter of the kray, oblast, city of federal significance, autonomous oblast and autonomous okrug which is adopted by the legislative (representative) body of the corresponding constituent entity of the Russian Federation.» – thus the «Territory» turns into «Kray», «Region» into «Oblast», «City of Federal Importance» into «City of Federal Significance», «Autonomous Region» into «Autonomous Oblast», and «Autonomous Area» into «Autonomous Okrug».

But we think that the text of this translation will be replace in the nearest future because of its inconsistency.

See also: Constitution of the Russian Federation in English, Anthem of the Russian Federation in English, Anthem of Moscow in English.